## The Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford

February 14, 2011

A regular meeting of the Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford was held on Monday, February 14, 2011 at 7:00 p.m.

Chaired by: Mayor, J. Douglas Struthers

Members of Council: Deputy Mayor David Nash

Councillor Anne Barr Councillor Don Halpenny Councillor David Snowdon Councillor Victor Suthren

Regrets: Councillor Timothy Molloy

Staff in Attendance: Jill Eagle, CAO/Clerk

Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest: None.

Press in Attendance: 0

Public in Attendance: +/- 20

**Additions to the Agenda:** The Mayor noted there was a By-Law at the table which would appoint an Acting Deputy-Clerk. It was also noted that the Action Items list noted on the agenda was not available.

Delegations: None.

## Open Question Period:

- Denis Gagnon,13351 County Road 15. Mr. Gagnon asked if he could receive a copy of the Terms of Reference for Boards and Committees. It was indicated the material would be made available to him.
- 2. Gord Bertrand, 285 Snowdons Drive East. Mr. Bertrand asked if he could ask questions after the Open Question Period. The Mayor indicated he could not.
- 3. Dell Bower, 305 St. Patrick Street. Mr. Bower noted that Athen and Rideau Lakes were challenging the Green Energy Act and he asked if Merrickville-Wolford would as well. The Mayor indicated there would be discussion on the matter later in the meeting.
- 4. Dan Robitaille, 722 Pioneer Road. Mr. Robitaille asked why the protocols for attending a meeting were not posted to the website and wondered if they could be posted. It was indicated the item could be posted to the site.

## Resolutions:

**R-025-11** Moved by V. Suthren, Seconded by D. Snowdon

Be it hereby resolved that: the agenda of the regular council meeting

of February 14, 2011 be adopted as amended

Carried.

R-026-11 Moved by D. Nash, Seconded by A. Barr

Be it hereby resolved that: the minutes of the regular council meeting

on January 24, 2011 be adopted as circulated.

Carried.

R-027-11 Moved by V. Suthren, Seconded by D. Nash

**Be it hereby resolved that**: The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint the following members to the Merrickville-Wolford Library Board for the term 2010-

2014: Brian Reid, Suzanne Birta and John Harris.

Carried.

R-028-11 Moved by D. Nash, Seconded by A. Barr

Be it hereby resolved that: The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint Jim Anderton to be the municipal representative on the Rideau Valley Conservation Authority for the term 2010 - 2014.

Carried.

R-029-11 Moved by D. Snowdon, Seconded by D. Halpenny

**Be it hereby resolved that:** The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint the following members to the Merrickville-Wolford Environment Advisory Committee for the term 2010-2014: Anne deGobeo, Carol Williams, Shelley Innes,

Tom Beach and Sylvia Blanchard.

Carried.

R-030-11 Moved by D. Snowdon, Seconded by D. Halpenny
Be it hereby resolved that: The Council of the Corporation of the

Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint the following members to the Merrickville-Wolford Recreation Board for the term 2010-2014: Troy Murphy, Claire Smith, Brian McDougall, Rhys Knott, Marcia

Wilson, Kim Matte and Lynne Burchill.

Carried.

R-031-11 Moved by D. Halpenny, Seconded by D. Snowdon

Be it hereby resolved that: The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint the following members to the Merrickville-Wolford Heritage Advisory Committee for the term 2010-2014: Roy Vontobel, Martin Green and Marcia Wilson.

Carried.

R-032-11 Moved by D. Nash, Seconded by A. Barr

Be it hereby resolved that: The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint the following members to the Merrickville-Wolford Property Standards Committee for the term 2010-2014: Brian Keeley, Wayne Poapst, Colin Hurman, Elaine Richards and Patricia Watson.

Carried.

R-033-11 Moved by A. Barr, Seconded by D. Nash

**Be it hereby resolved that:** The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby appoint the following members to the Merrickville-Wolford Committee of Adjustment for the term 2010-2014: Ken Janes, Elaine Richards, Philippe Lagarde, Colin Hurman and Patricia Watson.

Carried.

**R-034-11** Moved by V. Suthren, Seconded by D. Halpenny

**Be it hereby resolved that:** The Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does hereby agree to donate \$100.00 to the Grenville County Plowmen's Association.

Carried.

**R-035-11** Moved by D. Nash, Seconded by V. Suthren

**Be it hereby resolved that:** By-Law 06-11, being a By-Law to appoint Suzanne Jackman as Acting Deputy Clerk, be read a first and second time and that By-Law 06-11 be read a third and final time and passed.

Carried.

**R-036-11** Moved by D. Halpenny, Seconded by D. Nash

**Be it hereby resolved that**: This regular meeting of the Council of the Corporation of the Village of Merrickville-Wolford does now adjourn at 8:12 pm until the regular meeting of council on Monday, February 28, 2010 at 7:00 pm, or until the call of the Mayor subject to need.

Carried.

J. Douglas Struthers, Mayor

Jill E. Eagle, CAO/Clerk